Washi Tape Card

Crafts ’n things Craft of the Day

Use some of your favorite washi tapes to create adorable custom notecards.

Materials

  • Close to My Heart Colonial White Cardstock
  • American Crafts Washi Tape, assorted patterns

Tools

  • Silhouette CAMEO Electronic Cutting Machine and Pink Sketch Pen
  • Craft glue

Basic Supplies

scissors, computer

Directions

Size

3″x3″

Washi Tape Card

1. Create 3”x3” White side-fold card base. Apply washi tape across card front.

2. Open the Silhouette Studio software. Using the rectangle tool, draw two squares – one measuring 3” and one measuring 2.75”. Open the heart shape and resize it to 2.135”x2.15”. Select all three shapes, open the align window and click “center.”

3. Select the inner, smaller square. Opening the line style window, choose dashed line. Select the larger, outer square and heart. Opening the cut style window, choose “no cut.”

4. Load CAMEO with sketch pen and white cardstock. In Studio software, open the cut settings window, choose Silhouette Sketch Pen and click cut. When complete, replace pen with cutting blade. Do not unload mat.

5. In Studio software, change the smaller square to “no cut” and the larger square and heart to “cut”. Open the cut settings window and choose textured cardstock. Click cut. When panel is cut, remove from CAMEO and adhere to card front.

Tip

  • If you don’t have washi tape, strips of scrapbook paper would work great too!

by Jeana Goodwin for Silhouette America (blog.silhouetteamerica.com)

Great Finds Friday: CHA Summer 2013 Hot List Part II

Create-n-Connect, the summer trade show sponsored by the Craft and Hobby Association, tantalized crafters with a tempting array of nifty new artsy toys and inspiration.

Here’s the second installment in our two-part, exhaustive look at what’s new, hot, and enticing, from trends and tools to inks, stamps, and more. Grab a pen and paper because you’ll want to start your holiday wish list now!

At Ranger, Tim Holtz introduced 24 Distress Glitters, which sparkle like mica; 12 new Distress Markers; and Distress Watercolor Cardstock made specifically to handle wet inking techniques. Create your own rainbow stamping pad with spray mists using Dyan Reaveley’s Ink Spray Pad, an oversized, blank foam pad. Ranger’s latest inklings are Wendy Vecchi’s waterproof Archival Inks in vintage colors that coordinate with Distress Inks. Ranger describes the palette of colors as “inspired by a vintage country garden.” The inks are permanent, so you can stamp with them, and then use water-based inks (such as Distress) right over the designs.

Clearsnap brought SurfaceZ, a fast-drying, multi-surface, permanent ink; new ColorBox Archival dye colors; a cleaning pad; Spritzers quick-drying dye spray; Art Screens stencils; blending tools; Smooch foam Accent Tips for precision coloring; and more.

Faber-Castell’s Gelatos Kit is a great introduction to these creamy, blendable, water-soluble color sticks. The kit comes with 10 Gelatos, mister, instruction book, sample of surfaces, and more. Mixed-media journal cards have a watercolor texture and are sturdy enough to withstand wet mediums without warping.

Tombow’s new Fun Doodling Kit is a great gift for a budding artist, while the Blending Kit comes with blender, palette, spray mister, and guide showing how to get the most from Dual Brush Pens. Also, soft-lead, wax-based Irojiten Colored Pencils now come in sepia tones.

We are beguiled by Milk Paint lead-free powder by Imaginisce. Just add water and mix. Mix only what you need, or store leftover liquid for about a week in the ‘fridge.

DecoArt has chalkboard paint for porous and non-porous surfaces, plus new Clear Chalkboard Paint that turns any acrylic-painted surface into a chalkboard.

Want the chalkboard look without the paint? We saw lots of stickers, tags, and papers, including Authentique’s Irresistible papers and Prima’s La Tiza Chalkboard Paper Flowers (shown here, great with colored pencil, inks, metallic pastes, etc.).

Rustic and vintage paper and embellishments are abundant, including: Bo Bunny’s kraft bags, paper rolls, pleated burlap, etc.; Hemptique’s Bamboo baker’s twine (shown here), May Arts’ well-stocked ribbons (including new elastic ribbon); Maya Road’s colored burlap and fabric tape; new products from Canvas Corp, etc. Or go bright with Tulip One-Step Spray Dye Kit (spray bottles are pre-packaged with powder that you dissolve in water, shown here).

We’re intrigued by Bazzill Basics Paper Tarnished Tissue. It’s lightweight but strong enough to take inks, sprays, chalks, and even dry embossing and punching. We also love the company’s Pleated Papers and Antique Paper Tape.

We wouldn’t forget stamps. Tim Holtz has more holiday images in his popular blueprint series, and his new line of old-school apothecary designs are so very Tim. (Do check out his blog to see all the vintage goodness, including his fabulous show booth.)

Sweet and sassy more your thing? Find both at Art Impressions (chubby babies to sassy old ladies and gents, as well as scene-stealing trios that make delightful tri-fold cards), Some Odd Girl (cute to quirky with some nice teen/tween images), Something Tattered (romantic, French-inspired clear stamps destined for weddings and elegant stationery, shown here), and Whimsy Stamps (demure to risqué), to name just a few.

Impression Obsession added 300 images to its already extensive line, including beautifully detailed Gary Robertson scenes (shown here), lovely cowboy silhouettes and phrases, Cover-a-Card backgrounds, and some nice teen-centric silhouettes. House-Mouse Designs stamps are new at Stampendous! Art Impressions and Hero Arts have stamps that help support Operation Write Home, a non-profit that sends handcrafted cards so military personnel overseas can write home; a new Art Impressions set is shown here.

Paper, paper, paper! So good, so plentiful! Anna Griffin’s holiday line runs from retro ’40s colors to the elegant silver and gold Winter Wonderland Collection. Authentique has cute puzzle pieces in the holiday Joyous Collection. BoBunny’s Zip a Dee Doodle Collection, shown here, features hand-drawn designs. Carta Bella’s cowboy/cowgirl themes, from Echo Park Paper Co., will make you say giddy-up.

Kaisercraft’s Basecoat papers look like wood, brick, linen, etc. WorldWin can’t be beat for variety, from textures and shimmers to Cut Mates (specially designed for crisp die cutting) and Tube (slightly coated to handle inks, mists, etc., with no soak-through).

As for embellishments, mustaches, cameras, and chevrons are still popular design motifs. Doodlebug Designs Pixies, shown here, are colorful picks for cards, pages, cupcakes, etc., while Sprinkles are bright, round, glossy stickers. Piddix photo images are sized just right for bezels and already coated so you don’t have to worry about bleeding, while Bazzill Basics Paper alterable metal tags are great for jewelry.

Did you miss part I of this CHA Recap? Check out the August 16th Great Finds Friday blog post. Visit the companies mentioned in the Resources list for more information about new products.

RESOURCES

American Crafts www.americancrafts.com

Anna Griffin www.annagriffin.com

Art Gone Wild www.agwstamps.com

Art Impressions www.artimpressions.com

Authentique www.authentiquepaper.com

Bazzill Basics Paper www.bazzillbasics.com

BoBunny www.bobunny.com

Bottle Cutting Inc. www.bottlecutting.com

Canvas Corp. www.canvascorp.com

Clearsnap www.clearsnap.com

Craftwell www.craftwellusa.com

DecoArt www.decoart.com

Doodlebug Design www.doodlebug.ws

Dreamweaver www.dreamweaverstencils.com

Echo Park/Carta Bella www.echoparkpaper.com

Ecstasy Crafts www.ecstasycrafts.com

Elizabeth Craft Designs www.elizabethcraftdesigns.com

Faber-Castell www.designmemorycraft.com

Hemptique www.hemptique.net

Hot Off The Press www.hotp.com

Imaginisce www.imaginisce.com

Impression Obsession www.iostamps.com

KaiserCraft www.kaisercraft.com.au

Lifestyle Crafts www.lifestylecrafts.com

Little B www.littlebllc.com

May Arts www.mayarts.com

Maya Road www.mayaroad.com

My Mind’s Eye www.mymindseye.com

Penny Black www.pennyblackinc.com

Piddix www.piddix.com

Prima www.livewithprima.com

Queen & Co. www.queenandcompany.com

Ranger www.rangerink.com

Scotch www.scotchbrand.com

Sizzix www.sizzix.com

Some Odd Girl www.someoddgirl.com

Something Tattered www.somethingtattered.com

Spellbinders www.spellbinderscreativearts.com

Stampendous! www.stampendous.com

Stamper’s Anonymous www.stampersanonymous.com

Taylored Expressions www.tayloredexpressions.com

The Crafter’s Workshop www.thecraftersworkshop.com

Tim Holtz www.timholtz.com

Tombow www.tombowusa.com

Tulip www.ilovetocreate.com

We R Memory Keepers www.weronthenet.com

Whimsy Stamps www.whimsystamps.com

World Win Papers www.worldwinpapers.com

Xyron www.xyron.com

by Roberta Wax (www.creativeunblock.com)